Clients Want More than Just Good Technique

photo (2)

It’s not how much you know, it’s about how well you live through experience.

Establish a connection with each client, listen well, and then master your touch.

You can have all the answers, all the boxes checked off, and have all the right things to say, but without experience, not only can life be empty, but so can your career as a Massage Therapist.

I massaged for free for three years, because I simply wanted experience.  I was new and learning, I didn’t want people to pay me for that.  I needed them more than they needed me in the beginning. I volunteered going to homes, in hospitals, and sports medicine clinics under Physicians and Physical Therapists.  It wasn’t long before patients requested me as the teenage massage therapy student before the PT’s.

You can meet the most intelligent person in the world, yet has not an ounce of compassion.  You can meet the most intriguing person, yet cannot truly listen and only waits to butt in their next thought.

Gain experience for the right motivations, because you care for your clients and want the best for them.  You should want to see them healed and restored.  Go in with the intention of wanting your client to say, “Wow! That was the best massage I have ever had!”

Think about the importance of gaining experience like this massage intern:

“It’s really important to be able to apply the theory in a practical environment. Being an intern gives me access to the knowledge of experienced therapists who are able to guide me each step of the way. If you just study from a textbook, you receive a lot less mentoring and it can be harder to find a job at the end because you don’t have the experience most employers are looking for.”

(See full blog post here: A Day in the Life of Soft Tissue Massage Intern)

If you spend your massage sessions hoping the clock to speed up so you can get a paycheck, you will find clients won’t be eager to come see you again.  Believe it or not, clients can feel how well you connect with them and how much you care.  If your heart is right and you have the touch and technique to follow through, your clients won’t want any other therapist.

Each day, check the heart of your motivations and priorities:

  1. Connect with your clients, let them know and feel  you care for their well-being.
  2. Listen well.  Your clients can guide you to giving the best massage they have ever had.
  3. Master your touch and technique. (Mentoring with me is available).

If interesting in gaining hands on experience mentoring under Massage by Bailey with paid commission, email me at wellnessbybailey@gmail.com with your cover letter and resume.  For online experience, continue to follow my blog for valuable e-books and instructional video’s.

Blessings to you and building your clients through the experience of connecting, listening, and mastering your touch.

Leave a comment